When I was a kid, it was a treat to get funfetti cake. So when I saw this recipe on pinterest, the little kid inside me started begging the adult side of me to try it. So last week I had every intention of starting my list of recipes early in the week, to make my Friday night baking easier…and of course things got in the way and once again I found myself at the local grocery store buying supplies on Thursday night. If it wasn’t for Jodes emailing me the recipes (I’m still the girl without a smart phone and my work blocks pinterest) I would probably be at the local grocery store hours before Jodi was to show up at my house to wrap all the bakes goods. (She’s a life saver).

So as I’m standing in the baking aisle, I figure I’ll “try something different” in order to make this recipe my own, so I bought a funfetti cake mix since the recipe called for a white cake mix. When I got home and started making the recipe, I opened up the funfetti cake mix. This was shortly followed by “are you kidding me?!” My other half comes running into the kitchen, to see what was up (guess I must have said this a little louder than I thought). Little did I realize that all a funfetti cake mix contains is a white cake mix with rainbow sprinkles in it….well-played Betty Crocker, well-played. So although a childhood memory of this wonderful cake was smashed, these brownies came out amazing, even with the funfetti cake mix.

Cake Batter Blondie

Ingredients:

1 white cake mix

1/4 c. canola oil

1/4 c. heavy whipping cream

1/4 c. milk

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 c. white chocolate chips

1/4 c. rainbow sprinkles

Cake Batter Blondie Instructions:

1) Mix together cake mix, milk, whipping cream, oil, vanilla and egg.

2) Add in chocolate chips and sprinkles.

3) Bake in 8×8 greased baking pan for 25-40 minutes at 350º

IMG_1808

**On another side note, as I was taking this picture, my other half walks by and goes “what are those?!” I told him they were brownies. He proceeded to take a huge chunk. I have a feeling those won’t be in my fridge much longer now that he knows they are there and he’s finished off Jodes peanut butter truffles.

