Ever seen the movie office space? I don’t think the true humor of that movie can be truly appreciated until you work in an office environment. Like many offices, mine is full of a cast of characters and dialog that I swear will make me millions someday. But until then, I figured a recipe for mudslide cupcakes would make any case of the MOOOOOON-DAYSSSS and TSP reports a little more bearable.

These were a big hit at the Jack and Jill. Just remember there is nothing wrong with adding a little extra alcohol to help cure any case of the Mondays. Take two and call me in the morning.

IMG_1795

Mudslide Cupcakes

Servings: approximately 20 cupcakes

Ingredients

For the cupcakes:
3 eggs, separated and at room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 cup strong cold coffee
3/4 cup Kahlua

*Note when I made them I altered the Butter cream a bit. My first batch ended up resembling a pudding consistency. If you are to make these I suggest using a half and half butter/shortening combination. You will get a better result. I ended up buying nip bottles of Kahlua and Bailey’s. I used a couple of bottles each 🙂 Enjoy!!!

For the Kahlua buttercream:
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
3 cups (or more, if needed) powdered sugar
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
4 tablespoons Kahlua
3 tablespoons hot coffee

For the Bailey’s buttercream:
16 tablespoons (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
3 cups powdered sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
4 tablespoons Bailey’s Irish Cream
4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, shaved in curls

