Okay, so every once and a while I get the urge to try something that is out of my comfort zone, that I know will make my husband very happy.  This was a recipe I found when browsing around pinterest and thought it was something that my husband probably had when he was growing up, so I thought, why not give it a try?  I modified it a bit compared to the recipe I found, but it still came out really good.

Bacalao (Puerto Rican Fish Stew)

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb  haddock filets
  • 2 tablespoons  extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium  onion, chopped
  • 4   garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (14  ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup frozen, canned or fresh peas
  • 1 packet sazon seasoning
  • 1/4 cup  fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons  sliced pimento stuffed olives
  • 1/2 cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon  dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2 cup  water, as needed

Instructions:

  • Heat oil in a large high-sided skillet over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 2 minutes. Add garlic and cook, stirring, for 1 minute.

DSC02386

  • Add fish, tomatoes and their juices, cayenne pepper, cilantro, olives, sazon, peas, oregano and salt; stir to combine. Add up to 1/2 cup water if the mixture seems dry. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

DSC02390

  • Remove from the heat. Serve warm or at room temperature, garnished with avocado or shredded parmesan cheese.

DSC02392

