Over the weekend I was eyeing my pile of apples and decided I should make something with them before they go bad. My soon to be sister in-law has been begging me the last couple of years to make apple butter…so on a whim, I pulled out my crock pot and decided to make a batch. The best part, I had the crock pot going most of the day and my soon to be sister in-law stopped in while I wasn’t home. I asked her to stir the contents of my crock pot while I was out. I don’t think she had any idea I was making apple butter because my crock pot and all of its contents were still in tack when I came home. But I’m sure as soon as she gets wind of the jars of apple butter sitting on my counter they will be gone.

I stated with the below recipe, but altered it a little bit.

Apple Butter

Ingredients

14-16 apples

2 cups of apple juice or water

6 cups of sugar

6 tsp. of cinnamon

3 tsp. of cloves

3 tsp. of allspice

I ended up using 16 apples, mine were Gala and Macintosh. I peeled, cored the apples and placed them in my crock pot. I then put 2 cups of apple cider over the apples and put the crock pot on low for 8 hours. I stirred the apples once or twice during the process. Before I added my sugar and spices I took a potato masher to the apples to break them up.  I added 1 1/2 cups sugar, 6 tsp. of cinnamon, 1 tsp. of nutmeg and cooked the apples for 2 more hours without the cover on the crock pot. I then put the finished apple butter in jars and put them in a water bath.

IMG_1891

After all that, there is no better sound than the popping of sealed jars! I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as my family…or rather my soon to be sister in-law does…

