So growing up, my mother was always big about Halloween and really all holidays and while I try to live up to her expectations of holidays I find that truly there is just not enough time and I really don’t know how she did all the decorations and activities while working full time. During halloween pumpkin carving was always my favorite, especially as I got older and could do more complicated designs.

This year I talked my daughter into doing a more complicated one as opposed to the more general jack o’lantern faces we have done in years prior. Well she wasn’t really hard to convince when I found a Rainbow Dash pattern over at Orange and Black Pumpkins . We got it all carved and it came out pretty cool…..well 20% cooler is the joke we have been saying…..

20131027-183551.jpg

After we sorted through all the pumpkin guts, my daughter kept correcting me saying it was pulp, I guess they have been learning about pumpkins in school, and got ready to roast pumpkins seeds.

All you need to do is give them a good rinse, pat them dry and lay them out on a cookie sheet.

20131027-183815.jpg

Give them a spritz of cooking spray and season with salt and a little pepper if you like. You could do other seasonings too, but I decided to go traditional this year.

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees and bake them for about 20 minutes. Then they’re done, and you have a tasty snack while you are waiting for mom to figure out dinner…lol.

20131027-184115.jpg

