So we all have these recipes, the ones that have been handed down, and made so many times that we don’t even measure them anymore, it’s all done by “eyeballing it”.  This was a recipe my mom used to make when I was a kid, which she got from an old friend of the family.  As a kid, it was my sister’s favorite and I didn’t really care for it, but as I grew older and my tastes changed it has become something that I make several times a year.  I make it a lot because cucumbers are one of the few “green” vegetables my daughter will eat and as soon as she sees me slicing cucumbers, well I might as well put half of a cucumber aside for her because she’s going to sneak that much out of the bowl before I even finish making the salad.

Cucumber Salad

Ingredients:

Cucumbers

1/2 Medium Onion

Salt

Pepper

Mayonnaise

First you are going to want to peel your cucumbers and then slice them up.

20131018-074744.jpg

Then slice up a onion.

20131018-074808.jpg

Then pour it all into a bowl, add salt and pepper to taste and enough mayonnaise to lightly coat the cucumbers.  You don’t need a lot, for 2 cucumbers I probably used 4 tablespoons or less. I actually used a garlic and herb mayo I had, just change it up a bit, but regular mayo works just as good.  Then you want to cover your bowl with plastic wrap and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours to let the salt draw the juices out of the cucumbers and it’s ready to serve.

20131018-074921.jpg

