When I was traveling for work, I would try to find different places to eat. One thing I fell in love with is Gyros. When I was in TN, I had a spinach ball Gyro- it was to die for. Ever since I’ve stopped traveling for work, I’ve had a craving for a good gyro. I bet you can guess where I went to find a recipe…yup you guessed it Pinterst. The first time I did the recipe I followed the directions…for the most part. I even found a recipe for the Gyro flat bread (and made them)…

This time I decided to make this recipe a bit more user and week day friendly.

Chicken Gyros

First start with your marinade

Ingredients

4 cloves garlic, minced
1 lemon, juiced
2 tsp red wine vinegar
2 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp dried oregano

1) Combine all ingredients together.

2) Spray crock pot with cooking spray.

3) Put frozen chicken breasts into the crock pot and pour marinade over. Add a small amount of vegetable broth to bottom of crock pot (so the chicken won’t burn).

4) Place in fridge over night. In the A.M. put crock pot on low for 8-10 hours or until the chicken is cooked. Shred Chicken and place in a bowl.

IMG_1929

Now its time to make the Tzatziki sauce

Ingredients

1 (6 oz.) container of plain greek yogurt
1 regular cucumbers, peeled & seeded
1 clove garlic, crushed
1/2 teaspoon red wine vinegar
1/4 teaspoon  fresh lemon juice
1/8 teaspoon dried dill
salt and a little pepper
drizzle of extra virgin olive oil

1) Strain your yogurt. (I used a fine strainer over a bowl- and left it there for about 10 mins) and place into separate bowl.

IMG_1927

2) Shred…or in my case puree…the cucumber and strain as well. Add to yogurt.

IMG_1928

3) Add remaining ingredients to yogurt and cucumber mixture. Mix together and place in fridge (the longer it stays in the fridge the better it will taste).

As I mentioned above, the first time I made these, I attempted to make the flat bread. This time I got smart…or lazy (its a fine line lol) and bought the flat bread from Trader Joes…it was worth the $2.50 (in both time and frustration)!!  But if you insist on making the flat bread here is the link to the ones I made before…(Flat bread Link)…

Finally assemble your Gyros. I put sautéed onions, lettuce, cucumbers, cheese, tzatziki sauce and I may have seen Dan put some BBQ sauce on them…that’s the bachelor in him…

IMG_1931

These were yummy and a quick meal…for the most part! Give them a try. Have a good weekend everyone and talk to you all on Monday!

