Happy Wednesday everyone. Sorry I’ve been missing for a few days, like Jodes, I’ve been laid up with the plague. Although Im still not 100% and still hacking up a lung, Im hanging in there…and just because Im a little under the weather doesn’t mean life in my house has slowed down…chores still need to be done, clothes still need to be washed and dinner still needs to be made…although I’ve gotten some extra cuddle time with the puppy- I think she sensed I wasn’t feeling so good….and once Im back to normal…the puppy will go back to being daddy’s little girl.

Over the weekend Dan insisted we make a turkey dinner with all the fixings.  We had some leftover turkey and I wanted to try to make something different than my normal go to meal for leftover turkey…turkey pot pie…so I made a soup. It was simple, easy and hit the stop on a cold day.

IMG_1937

Ingredients

A couple cups of cooked turkey (or chicken) broken into small pieces and all bones removed

1 bag of frozen mixed vegetables

1 onion

1 box of cooked pasta

2 cans of vegetable broth

2 cans of diced tomatoes (I used oregano and garlic)

1 Big pot (otherwise you will end up like me with broth all over the stove top)

1) Cut onion and put into pot with olive oil. Cook until soft.

2) Add 2 cans of vegetable broth, and fill each can once with water and pour into pan.

3) Add 1 bag of frozen vegetables, cooked turkey or chicken, 2 cans of tomatoes.

4) Cook until broth is steaming. Add cooked pasta. Let simmer for 20 mins and serve hot.

The batch made enough for a couple of meals, which means I don’t have to cook tomorrow night and can concentrate on recouping for the holidays and black Friday. Enjoy and happy hump day.

