Happy hump day everyone! Today is the day that most of you go to work, pretend to do work, and get out right after or shortly after lunch. Me on the other hand, I took today off to get some things done for Thanks-give-a-kah.

See Dan’s dad’s side of the family is Jewish, so we will be celebrating Chanukah tomorrow with that part of the family…Im hoping there will also be a men-urkey…because that would be epic…just saying…

Anyways…today I am spending most of my day preparing the gift baskets…posts to come…for the family and making some pumpkin dessert…I heard somewhere that if you have pumpkin at the Chanukah table, it means it has been a prosperous year…and you know it may not have been to easiest, but we’ve made it through this year…thats good enough for me.

Personally I’d rather bring this apple cider sangria to Thanks-give-a-kah, but Im not sure if it would go over very well. So I will be sipping on the last of my batch from this past weekend while I put these baskets together. But I wanted to share this recipe with you all, and hope you share it with your family and friends over the holiday season.

IMG_1941

Ingredients

2 Bottles of red wine

1 cup brandy

1/2 cup triple sec

1 cup cranberry juice cocktail (100% juice)

1 cup apple cider or apple juice (I suggest go with the cider)

Juice of 1/2 orange (large)

Juice of 1/2 lemon

1/2 cup simple syrup infused with cinnamon and cloves (recipe below)

2 cinnamon sticks

1-2 slices of orange studded with 5 cloves along the rind

1/2 apple, cored and cut into 1/4 thick slices

Steps

In a large pitcher add the red wine, brandy, triple sec, cranberry juice, apple cider, orange juice, lemon juice and simple syrup.

Stir well, then add the orange and apple slices along with cinnamon sticks.

Refrigerate for 1-2 hours before serving.

Simple Syrup

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

3 cinnamon sticks

6-8 cloves

Combine all ingredients into pan. Heat on low. Simmer for at least 10 mins and allow to cool completely before using. The remainder can be stored in the fridge.

Once Thanks-give-a-kah is all said and done, Jodes and I will be preparing for our other favorite unofficial holiday…black Friday. We will be out come midnight, sipping on coffee…lots and lots of coffee…and enjoying the madness that is black Friday. So today I have named the quiet before the storm…because there will be little sleep the next 48 hours… 🙂

Cheers, happy Thanks-give-a-kah to you and your family. I will talk to you all on Friday…at some point…depending on how much coffee and little sleep I have…

