$(KGrHqFHJCUE63(+t4!hBO5iKV(krw~~60_3

The picture above is a Toyota Camry wrapped in red and white reflective duct tape. No you’re eyes do not deceive you…there are two exercise machines on top on this car…and yes that is candy canes on the hub caps. This is Dan’s uncles every day driver…the best way I can explain Dan’s uncle is fun…he loves to make people laugh and smile…and I don’t think anyone cannot smile when they see this picture…follow by…”what the hell is that?!”.

It was no surprise to the family when Dave came to a family get together this pass summer making a grand entrance…although not pictured…he has engineered what looks like jet turbines on the back of this creation…he even has a soundtrack that makes it sound like a jet landing…needless to say he attracted a lot of attention when he showed up…the neighbors poured out of their houses to see what in gods name had just landed in the drive way…

So when it came time for Chanukah, I was trying to figure out what to get Dave…when it dawned on me…what he needed for his candy cane creation was a flight suit…a candy cane flight suit….

I went onto amazon and found red coveralls, red aviator sunglasses and candy cane duct tape…I used heat and bond and fabric from the local fabric store to make the decals…

 IMG_1944   IMG_1948

 IMG_1950   IMG_1947

Dan’s uncle is know as Pogo Dave in these parts…he started his street performance days building and jumping on pogo sticks…but don’t let this fool you…he does also have a day job…at a local airport…and around the holidays he’s known to dress up as Santa and jump on his pogo stick through the terminals…and I quote…

“I have a part time job as a Baggage Relocation Engineer, occasionally during the holidays I dress up in costume and bounce through the airport. Unfortunately one year (9/11) happened. The Airport closed for two weeks, eventually it reopened. During the holidays after (9/11) I  decided to bounce through the airport with my Santa Claus suit on.  Everything went well until I was pulled over by a RI State trooper. He said to me “Hey you can’t do this, the airport is on high alert. I said to him “I was watching the President of the United States on the news the other day and he clearly stated that all Americans should try to get back to their normal lives.” I said, “This is normal for me and I am just trying to do what the President said.””…

…This is Dave…and this is why we love him…and in case your curious…

IMG_1949

…yes…that is his real number…and yes…he is related to us…so if you are in the area…you may see this driving around…wearing my jump suit…just make sure to say hi…and smile…because for Dave that is the best reward.

For more smiles and laughs…check out his website…Pogodave.com

