Hi everyone! We’re back! Miss us? Oh come on…just a little?…  Jodes and I took the week off the spend Christmas with our families. Between the two of us we each hosted some sort of family dinner, did last min shopping and wrapping and baking. Dan and I spent most of the week doing work to our place, put in two new windows, and patched up the roof. Currently sitting in my dinning room is a grill (Dan got bored and decided to put his new toy together…) and a shower unit…(because the dinning room is apparently the most logical place to put such a thing..Lol.). But I can’t complain too much, at least we’re making progress and if that means anyone we have over in the next couple of weeks  has to eat in the living room and get a good chuckle out of my dinning room, I can live with that. Its never a dull moment in my house, that’s for sure…

Over my week off I did some baking as well. Its tradition for Dan and I to deliver boxes of baked goods to people who have been good to us throughout the year. Most of these people we don’t normally get to see due to a crazy schedule so its nice to catch up with them, even if its for a little while. This year the calendar wasn’t as friendly to me as in past years…so I had to scramble at the very last min to bake off all my goodies…AND my cousin who normally helps me is stationed in AK…

I made chocolate chip cookies, pumpkin chocolate cookies, break and bake sugar cookies…the ones with the fun faces on them…brownies with butter scotch chips, cinnamon roll cookies and peppermint pinwheels.

IMG_1980

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

1 cup canned pumpkin

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp milk

1 tbs vanilla extract

2 cups chocolate chips

Steps

1) Combine pumpkin, sugar, oil and egg.

2) Stir together flour, baking  powder, cinnamon and salt.

3) Dissolve the baking soda with milt and stir in.

4) Add Flour mixture to pumpkin mixture and mix well.

5) Add Vanilla and chocolate chips.

6) Scoop by spoon on greased cookie sheet and bake 350 degrees for 8-10 mins.

Peppermint Pinwheels

These cookies a good friend brought to my cookie swap and I had to share with others.

Ingredients

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks ) salted butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

Red gel food coloring, as needed

Steps

1) In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs one at a time, mixing well between each addition. Beat in the vanilla. Add the flour, baking powder and salt, mixing until well combined.

2) Remove 1/2 of the dough and add red food coloring to the remaining dough, beating until well mixed. Wrap each dough separately in plastic wrap and refrigerate for a half our to an hour to firm up the dough.

3) Roll out one color of dough to 1/4 inch thick rectangle on a lightly floured non-stick baking mat or wax paper. Roll out the second color of dough to 1/4 inch thick rectangle of the same size on a lightly floured non-stick baking mat or wax paper. Place the second rectangle on the top of the first and trim the edges. Using the mat or wax paper, roll dough into a log. Secure with rubber bands and place in the refrigerate for 4 hours to firm.

4) Preheat oven to 350. Cut the cookies and place onto prepared baking sheet. Cook for 7-8 mins, don’t allow the edges to brown. Cool completely before frosting.

Frosting

8 tbs butter, room temp

2-3 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp peppermint extract

2 tbs heavy cream

Pinch of Salt

Steps

1) In a large mixing bowl, beat butter until smooth.

2) Add 2 cups of powdered sugar and continue beating on low until combined

3) Mix in peppermint extract, heavy cream and salt.

4) Put onto cookies and enjoy!

OH and an update on my Pinterest Fail…those cinnamon sugar cookies…I made them with store bough sugar cookie dough…they came out better, but still not like the picture…next time I will knead the dough a lot more so it will be easier to roll. But they were a big hit with my family and Dan.

IMG_1982

So happy Monday all.

