The cold weather is here to stay…for at least a few more months… I’m the type of person who can never truly get warm until its 90 and humid…I’m the girl in the office with the big heavy long sweater on, all year long. Normally when I’m comfortable everyone else is sweating. This time of year I try to make food that warms from the soul. This batch of soup lasted me a couple of days, and warmed me from the inside out… which a double win for me.

I sometimes seem to get myself into recipe ruts, so with leftover chicken I wanted to try something else. This recipe intrigued me because the base of the soup was beer (which was have waaaay to much currently in our fridge)…(that make Dan and I sound like lushes…actually its the exact opposite, sometimes we get the urge to try something new and as a result it stays in our fridge for months or people bring some over and leave it…)

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we did.

IMG_1977

Chicken Taco Soup

Ingredients

1  onion, chopped

1 (16 ounce) can chili beans (I used Kidney)

1 (15 ounce) can  black beans

1 bag frozen shoe peg corn

1 (8 ounce) can  tomato sauce

1 (12 fluid ounce) can or bottle beer

2 (10 ounce) cans diced tomatoes

1 (1.25 ounce) package taco seasoning

3 whole skinless, boneless chicken breasts

shredded Cheddar cheese (optional)

Sour Cream (optional)

crushed tortilla chips (optional)

Steps

  • Place the onion, kidney beans, black beans, corn, tomato sauce, beer, and diced tomatoes in a slow cooker. Add taco seasoning, and stir to blend. Lay chicken breasts on top of the mixture, pressing down slightly until just covered by the other ingredients. Set slow cooker for low heat, cover, and cook for 5 hours.
  • Remove chicken breasts from the soup, and allow to cool long enough to be handled. Stir the shredded chicken back into the soup, and continue cooking for 2 hours. Serve topped with shredded Cheddar cheese, a dollop of sour cream, and crushed tortilla chips, if desired.
