My grandmother is one of the best cooks I know. With her getting older and most of us grand kids older, its rare for her to cook or bake, but by golly when she does its a huge treat. As a kid I can remember her making these mince meat filled sugar cookies. I honestly haven’t had these years and was very surprised when she made some for Christmas Eve…by the end of the night I’m not sure who had more, Dan or I. When we left, she gave us her opened jar. With the holidays FINALLY slowing down I decided to make these cookies for Dan, Dan’s sister and I.

…these didn’t last 24 hours in my house…even if you have never tried mince meat, I totally suggest trying it…who knows it might bring back some good childhood memories for you as it did for me.

IMG_1983

I stared this recipe with a simple sugar cookie recipe

Sugar Cookies

Ingredients

3/4 cup salted butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp backing powder

1/2 tsp salt

Steps

In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs one at a time, mixing well between each addition. Beat in Vanilla. Add flour, baking powder and salt, mixing until well combined.

This mix needs to sit in the fridge for a couple of hours.

Once the mixture has chilled, pull it out and need with flour to help with stickiness. Roll out dough onto floured surface about a 1/4 inch thick and cut out circles (I used a cup dipped in flour). Put one circle on greased cookie sheet, put mince meat or other filling in the middle and top with a second circle. Make sure to secure the edges so your filling doesn’t come out.  Also put slices on the top of each cookie so the filling can bake.

Cook at 350 for 8-9 mins. Cool and enjoy!

IMG_1984

