So, all I can say is I’m really tired of snow, and the cold, and did I mention Snow??  Well anyway, there are some nights where all I want to do is cozy up with some soup and a fluffy blanket and just ignore what’s going on outside my window…like last Wednesday, and by the sounds of it this Thursday…ugh…is it Spring yet?  Anyway, in the winter time I love doing crockpot soups because after the long commute home from work, dinner is pretty much done and I get to snuggle up with a blanket, and ignore the fluffy white stuff that is happening outside.

This recipe was inspired by the one I found at Food.com but, I simplified it a lot because at 5:00am you don’t have time to chop carrots and celery, well really I just shouldn’t be trusted with sharp objects without at least having two cups of coffee….

Sausage Soup

DSCN0413

Ingredients:

1  lb  bulk mild Italian sausage
3/4 cup frozen chopped onions
3/4 cup frozen chopped green peppers
1/2 teaspoon  minced garlic
1 (14 1/2 ounce) can diced tomatoes
1/2 teaspoon  dried basil
1/2 teaspoon  crushed dried rosemary
1 teaspoon crushed dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon crushed dried thyme
3 (14  ounce) cans chicken broth
2 cups rotini pasta cooked
parmesan cheese, shredded
Throw everything in the crockpot, except for the pasta and cheese and cook on low for 8 hours.  Throw in the cooked pasta and garnish with cheese.  It’s as simple as that.
DSCN0412
