With all the snow we’ve had the last couple of weeks, I never know when Im going to wake up to another 2-3 inches of additional snow. This winter has truly been the winter that never ends. Looking outside my window you’d never know its practically the middle of February. With that being said, all I want to do is cook comfort food, you know the kind that doesn’t do your waist line any favors. But logically I know come spring Ill be kicking myself for cooking all those yummy meals when my spring clothes don’t fit like they should.

So I decided to look for healthy or at least semi-healthy meals that will satisfy my comfort food cravings. This recipe I wouldn’t call completely diet friendly, especially when you add in the cheese and sour cream, but hey you can’t win them all.

Tex-Mex Crock Pot Chicken

(I adapted this recipe from the link above from Chef in training- Enjoy)

IMG_2035

Ingredients

1/2 pounds chicken

1 (14.4 oz) jar of salsa

1 (15 oz) can kidney beans

8 oz frozen shoe peg corn

1 (14.4 oz) can vegetable broth

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. onion powder

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. cayenne pepper

2 cups cooked rice

2 cups shredded cheese

garnish with sour cream

Steps

Combine chicken broth, beans, corn, salsa, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin,  and cayenne in the crock pot.

Place chicken breast in crock pot

Cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours.

Half hour before serving, remove chicken and shred. Return chicken to slow cooker and stir in cooked rice, cheese. Top with sour cream when you serve.

I think if you do half a can of vegetable broth you could serve this in tortillas instead of a bowl.

