Over the past year I’ve followed many blogs and over all of them I’ve seen an increase in pudding cookies. So I figured eh, why not try it. I was planning on making some chocolate chip cookies and decided to make that recipe into a pudding cookie. From all of the recipes I’ve read it seems like the only difference between a normal chocolate chip recipe is less white sugar, the addition of a package of instant pudding and the addition of two kinds of chips.

I started with a recipe from Chef in training, which by the way if you haven’t check out her blog yet, she’s got some really good recipes.

I must say I wasn’t sure what to expect as of consistency. But these cookies turned out more cake like than I had expected. So if you’re looking for a chocolate chip cookie consistency, this recipe isn’t for you. To be honest I think I’ll go back to my no fail chocolate chip cookie recipe and just add some different kinds of chips if I want to mix it up again. Because sometimes you just want a chocolate chip cookie.

So overall I wouldn’t call this a complete fail, its good, and next time I’d add in some butterscotch chips to bring the flavor out more.

IMG_2038

Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Pudding Cookies

3/4 cup apple sauce
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup sugar
1 small package (3.9 oz) butterscotch instant pudding mix, dry
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. baking soda
2 1/4 cups flour
1 1/2 bags of cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Steps

Cream together apple sauce and sugars.
Beat in dry instant pudding mix.
Add eggs and vanilla and beat until well incorporated.
Add baking soda and flour and beat until well incorporated.
Stir in chocolate chips.
Spoon onto a greased baking sheet.
Bake at 350 degrees and bake for 6 mins (you may have to adjust to the time for your oven).

