So, it’s been a long time coming.  This quilt has probably been sitting in a bag waiting to be quilted since July or August.  I made a quilt for my husband’s birthday last year and this was the decoy quilt.  The fabric I would always have close by to quickly grab in case he walked in the room while I was working on his.

This pattern was another one I found over at Missouri Star Quilt Company.  I highly suggest subscribing to their YouTube page.  They have some awesome tutorials for quilts.  this one involved using a layer cake which I got over at my favorite local quilt shop Bits and Pieces.  This is the first time I have used a layer cake, but when I saw this Simply Color fabric line from Moda, I knew I wanted to try this quilt.

20140218-090210.jpg

It came out looking so fun.  I rented the longarm over at Bits and Pieces and I cannot remember the pattern I chose, but I think it was called funky feathers or something like that.

20140218-090218.jpg

I also used a teal minky fabric for the backing and did the binding with the minky as well.  I’ve become quite attached to the minky back since I finish my baby quilt last month.  It’s so soft and cuddly, I will definitely be using it more often, if not all the time on my quilts.

20140218-090228.jpg

I was a little unsure how to do the binding with the minky, but I managed to find an awesome tutorial over at Cuddle Soft Kits.  This is the first quilt I have made that I haven’t given away to anyone.  It was supposed to be for me, but My daughter and I have really been sharing it.  On the weekend, and during snow days she has been cuddling up with it on the couch.

