If you’ve read through some of the recipes I’ve posted over the past 8 months, you may notice I swear by cooking frozen chicken in my crock pot during the day in vegetable broth. Recently Dan and I have tried to cut back on salt consumption. I was shocked to see how much sodium was in the vegetable broth and decided to try to make some from scratch. To be honest it wasn’t very hard to do and the container I made has lasted me for a few weeks. The blog I got the recipe from suggested that every time you cut up vegetables, put the remnants into a freezer bag in the freezer. Once the freezer bag is full use these vegetable to make your broth. That would help to lessen the cost of buying fresh vegetables just to make this recipe. I however did not have a freezer bag full of vegetables so I bought vegetable from the store just for this recipe. I couldn’t bring myself to throw them out after the broth was made so we ended up reusing the cooked vegetable for soup the next day. I suggest you try this recipe, its quick, easy and healthy.

IMG_2087

Vegetable Broth

Ingredients

1 pound of carrots, chopped

1 pound of celery, chopped

2 large parsnip, chopped

2 large onion, chopped

2 Tablespoons whole black peppercorn

1 gallon of water (or enough to cover the vegetable scraps and fill up your pan)

A bay leaf

Steps

Place all vegetables in a large stockpot and cover with water. Heat over high until boiling. Lower heat to a simmer and let simmer for one hour. Remove from heat and strain the broth into a large saucepan to let cool.

