Since Christmas, Dan has been bugging me to make Kapotsa. So finally I called my aunt for her father in-law’s recipe. After I got back from the grocery store I got to work. Three hours later Dan had his wish. I hope this will help his craving for awhile, because boy did it stink up my house. But if you want an old world recipe for this classic meal, you’ve come to the right place. I hope you enjoy it as much as Dan did.

IMG_2169

Ingredients

1 head of cabbage

2 lbs of onions

1 kielbasa

Salt/pepper

Canola Oil

Sauerkraut (27 ounces)

1 Tbsp vinegar

Steps

Chop up onions very thin. Put canola oil in the bottom of a big pot and pour chopped onions on top. Cook on med heat for about 16 mins.

Slice Kielbasa about 1/8 in thick and add into pot. Make sure to stir contents of the pot so it doesn’t burn.

Shred cabbage. Over 20 mins add small amounts of cabbage to pot and stir and cook for 1 hour.

Add drained sauerkraut to pot. Stir together and cook for 30 mins. Add Vinegar, salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy!

 

