I have had a craving for something summery due to the warm weather slowly coming back to New England. I gave into my craving and pulled out my reliable lemon bar recipe. But this time I decided to add a little something extra to shake things up a little bit….raspberry. These truly hit the spot and didn’t last very long in my house. My inner fat kid was pleased, but my waist line wasn’t. Oh well…a few extra burpees wouldn’t hurt. I hope you give into your inner fat kid and make these to celebrate the spring weather that is waaaaaaay over due.

Raspberry Lemon bars

IMG_2165

Ingredients

Crust

1 cup of butter

1/2 cup sugar

2 cups flour

Filling

4 eggs

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/4 cup flour

2 lemons juiced

2 Tbsp. raspberry jam

Steps

1) Blend butter, 2 cups of flour and 1/2 cup sugar. Press into the bottom of a greased pan (I used a 9X13) and bake at 350 for 15-20 mins.

2) For filling, whisk 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1/4 cup flour, eggs and lemon juice. Take 1/4 cup of filling and set aside. Pour remaining filling into crust. Mix 2 Tbsp. of raspberry jam into the 1/4 cup of filling set aside. Swirl into bars.

3) Bake at 350 for 20 mins and Enjoy!!!

 

