If there is one thing I love its apple and coffee cake. I squealed like a little girl with excitement when I found this recipe. Dan came running into the room thinking something was wrong then shook his head and laughed when I explained my squeal. One things you’ll notice about my next two posts, I’ve been trying to use up what I have in my fridge. In this post, I had apples that were starting to go bad and was searching for a new recipe. I think I hit this one out of the park with pinterest!! If you are a fat kid like me and love apples and coffee cake, then by golly I have the recipe for you…it is…nom nom nom…drool…

Apple Cinnamon Coffee Cake

IMG_2180

Apple Cinnamon Coffee Cake
2 large (or 4 small) baking apples, peeled, cored and chopped small
1-1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. granulated sugar
1/4 t. salt
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. vanilla
1/4 c. butter, melted and cooled
3/4 c. half-n-half or milk
1 large egg, beaten


Topping:
1/4 c. light brown sugar, packed
2 t. cinnamon
1/2 c. chopped walnuts or pecans

Grease an 8×8 pan and preheat oven to 350 degrees

In mixing bowl, combine flour, granulated sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.

In another bowl, mix together the melted butter, egg, vanilla, and milk/half-n-half.

Combine the wet and dry ingredients gently, being careful to not overmix. The batter should be slightly lumpy. Add in the chopped apples.

Combine the nuts, brown sugar and cinnamon. Spread over the top of the batter. The topping is the key to a great tasting coffee cake!

Bake for about 50 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. This is delicious served warm. Cover and store remaining cake in fridge.

Happy Monday everyone! I hope this wonderful recipe makes it a little bit better. Try it out and let me know what you think! I can’t wait to see what you guys think!

 

