You know I really should learn my lesson, Im not a big fan of strawberry…unless its raw strawberries, strawberry shortcake OR if Im in the mood, strawberry ice cream. Once again I bought strawberries at the grocery store with big plans that never came to be. As a result I was left with almost a whole carton of strawberries that needed to be used up. I decided to use them in a recipe for the bridal shower. Since we were having a brunch, I decided to try to make strawberry braid with vanilla glaze. I figured that if worst came to worst, Jodi could take them home with her after the shower.

The recipe I pulled from pinterst had this pretty picture of what this braid was supposed to look like. Like any seasoned cook, I though how hard could this be? Although I love to cook and bake, I honestly don’t think I have the patience to make this recipe look anything close to or resemble a braid or the picture in the post. To be honest it wasn’t a huge hit at the shower either and I ended up throwing the rest away by the end of last week. So if you want to try you hand at the recipe, making the dough wasn’t a problem, but the dough was very sticky and hard to work with, even with a pile of flour. If you happen to try this recipe, let me know how you make out. Maybe you’ll have better luck than I.

Usually this is where I post the ingredients and steps, but the blog that I got the recipe from request that this not be done. In order to respect this bloggers wishes, if you would like to check out the recipe for the braid please see this link: Strawberry Vanilla Braid.

But I will still post my picture of what I made.

IMG_2194

Happy Cinco de Mayo everyone!

