Im a sucker for scones. Yes I know they are not the best for you, but I just couldn’t resist. Panera bread has these orange scone that are to die for…have you seen the calorie count?!… I give in, there goes my diet for the day. Anyways I was assigned to bring scones to the bridal shower. I found a recipe for orange cranberry scones on pinterst. Let me tell you they were nom nom nom. I ended up adding white chocolate to mine and I honestly couldn’t get enough of them. Between Dan and I they did not last long in my house. You HAVE to try these. They were so easy, I may end up making more and just make sure I get my butt to kickboxing to work off the yummyness of this recipe.

Cranberry Orange Scones

IMG_2195
2 cups all-purpose flour
10 teaspoons sugar, divided
1 tablespoon grated orange peel
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup cold butter
1 cup dried cranberries
1 cup white chocolate chips
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup half-and-half cream
1 egg
1 tablespoon milk (or unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

Glaze (optional):
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
1 tablespoon orange juice

Directions:
In a large bowl, combine the flour, 7 teaspoons sugar, orange peel, baking powder, salt and baking soda. Cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs; set aside. In a small bowl, combine the cranberries, orange juice, cream and egg. Add to flour mixture and stir until a soft dough forms.

On a floured surface, gently knead 6-8 times. Pat dough into an 8-in. circle. Cut into 8 wedges. Separate wedges and place on an parchment paper covered baking sheet. Brush with milk or unsweetened vanilla almond milk; sprinkle with remaining sugar.
Bake at 400° for 12-15 minutes or until lightly browned. Move scones carefully to a wire rack.

Combine glaze ingredients if desired; drizzle over scones. Enjoy while warm or let cool and store in an airtight container. Yield: 8 scones.

