Happy Friday everyone! We made it through another week. Jodi and I are preparing for the Bachelorette tomorrow. Tonight she is coming to my place to make some “grown up” cupcakes for the party (PG version to come next week). I’ve been busy doing a lot of baking, as you can tell from my two recent posts. My most recent adventure was with jam filled marscapone cookies. I’ve been trying to make this recipe for the past month. I decided it was finally the time.

The recipe was super easy and SO good. These cookies were apart of a care package sent to my friend in MD. I gave her instructions to hand them off to her grandmother (who is spitfire in her old age). My friend informed me that they never did make it to Granny’s because they were THAT good. I told her I’d give her the recipe on one condition, Granny was to get one batch for her self and her friend at the assisted living community.

The recipe I pulled from Pinterst called for fig filling, but I ended up using Trapest seedless raspberry jelly instead. I could honestly eat a whole batch myself without even thinking twice. Although Dan says he preferred them without the jam. So next batch I make Ill make him some without jam…because Im THAT nice. I hope you all have a good weekend. We will be out and about tomorrow night with the girls celebrating! And most likely recovering on Sunday. Have a great weekend.

Mascarpone Fig Jam Cookies

IMG_2192

 

Yield: Approximately 30 cookies

Ingredients:

1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup mascarpone cheese

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup fig jam, or jam of choice

powdered sugar for garnish (optional)

Create the Mascarpone fig Jam Cookies:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Place sheets of parchment paper, or silicone baking liners on two cookie sheets. Set aside.

Beat together the butter and sugar until light, then add the egg and vanilla. Mix until smooth.

Add the mascarpone cheese, and beat until smooth.

Sift together the dry ingredients, and fold them into the butter mixture, mixing just until combined.

Wrap the dough in plastic wrap, and refrigerate 1 hour.

Rub a slight amount of flour on the palms of your hands. Roll the dough into 1-1/2 inch balls. (approximately 1-1/8 ounces each) Cover with plastic wrap as you work, so they don’t dry out.

Using the blunt round end of a wooden spoon, or similar kitchen utensil, create an indentation in the center of each cookie. Place the cookies 2 inches apart, and bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or just as the cookies begin to color.

As soon as you remove the cookies sheets from the oven, use the spoon to open up the circle, (since it will slightly close up while baking.)

Carefully spoon a small amount of jam into each cookie.

Let sit at room temperature until the jam is set. Once the jam is set and cookies are cool, sprinkle with powdered sugar, if you wish.

