I am so glad I finally had a weekend to play catch-up. Over this past weekend I managed to give both Jessie and Meow Meow baths (neither were thrilled with me), meow the lawn, do so yard work, clean the house, do a little spring cleaning that I‘ve been putting off, make some homemade sauce and muffins for Dan and I for this weeks breakfast. All and all it was a productive weekend. I even got a couple of hours to myself to just hang out and do…wait for it….drum roll please…NOTHING!!! Yes ladies and gentlemen you heard correctly NOTHING.

Dan and I have been trying to eat healthy or as healthy as we can. Its so hard this time of year when barbecuing is the norm and there are so many good ice cream shops around (Shaw farm- you have to try the coffee Oreo, Kimball’s Farm- they make a yummy vanilla peanut butter cup, or if you want to be a fat kid with a friend, order a Kimball special- just to name a few).

During the week I’ve been trying to make something that we can just grab and go in the morning. This usually consists of a bread product. As much as I would love to have scones everyday, my waste line would not appreciate it. So I’ve been playing around with a few new recipes and yes one of them is a scone recipe (you see that one later in the week).

First though I’ll start with the healthy one. I found a recipe on Pinterest that used ground oatmeal instead of flour and Greek yogurt instead of butter. I added a few additions of my own to make two different versions, banana chocolate chip muffins and apple cinnamon muffins.

Apple Cinnamon Muffins

IMG_2209
Ingredients
2 ½ cups old fashioned oats
1 cup van Greek yogurt
2 eggs
2 apples peeled and sliced into small chunks
¼ cup sugar
¼ cup brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla
2 tsp cinnamon

1) Preheat oven to 350.

2) Place oats into a blender or food processor and pulse until flour consistency.

3) In bowl combine all ingredients and mix together

4) Scoop into muffin tins and bake for 15-20 mins until the tops of the muffins are slightly brown.

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffin
(when I made this recipe I doubled it- so if you don’t want so much, just cut everything in half)
Ingredients
3 cups old fashioned oats
2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup van Greek yogurt
¼ cup butter melted
4 eggs
5 bananas
1 cup sugar
4 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
1 bag of mini chocolate chips

1) Preheat oven to 350.

2) Place oats into a blender or food processor and pulse until flour consistency.

3) In bowl combine all ingredients and mix together

4) Scoop into muffin tins and bake for 15-20 mins until the tops of the muffins are slightly brown.

