I hope you all had a good weekend. I ended up going with Jodes to get our dresses fitted for our friends wedding (which is in less than a month…insert shocked face here). I guess time files when you’re having fun…or at the very least party planning like a boss. Anyways our dresses should be ready in a couple of weeks, just in time for our friend’s big day. I also got to see another friend of mine at her son’s 16th b-day party…I feel old. Then on Sunday I got to go to lunch with my old college roommate and Dan even treated us to ice cream…chocolate chocolate chip cookie dough…enough said. So I guess in short my weekend was one of catching up with some old friends.

I also got to pull out my shorts for the first time this year. Its always a plus when they still fit! So all and all I’d say it was a good weekend. However I do wish it was longer…because honestly the last thing I wanted to do this morning was wake up at 5ish, to go to my grown up job (even when coffee is involved). So until I win the lottery…I guess I have to pay the bills somehow.

In the mean time, my mixer and I have been making a mess of what used to be my clean kitchen and made Orange Ricotta Pound Cake….and yes it is as good as it sounds.

Happy Monday everyone! I hope you make it through the day…Monday’s are rough…but with a cup of coffee and some orange ricotta pound cake…its just a tiny bit more bearable…

IMG_2222

Orange Ricotta Pound Cake

Ingredients
½ cup applesauce
¼ cup butter
1 1/2 cups cake flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 1/2 cups part skim-milk ricotta cheese
1 1/2 cups plus 1 table spoon granulated sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 orange, zested
Juice of 1 orange
2 tablespoons Grand Marnier

Steps

1. Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Grease a 9-by-5-by-3-inch loaf pan with butter (grease it very well). In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Stir to blend.

2. Using a mixer, cream the applesauce, butter, ricotta and granulated sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. With the machine running, add the eggs 1 at a time. Add the vanilla, zest and alcohol until combined. Add the dry ingredients, a small amount at a time, until just incorporated.

3. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake until a toothpick comes out clean and the cake pulls away from the sides of the pan, 45 to 50 minutes.

