I’m glad its finally Wednesday! Which means we’re on the down turn of the week. This week has been wonderful! I think mother nature finally decided to get her act together. Its been in the mid 70’s and sunny for the last couple of days…its been a nice change of pace to say the least. Although this nice weather dose make it hard to concentrate at work…knowing that I could be by a pool with a drink…instead of in an office staring at spreadsheets…let’s be honest which one would you choose?

I spent the last couple of days trying to find a vacation rental for Dan and I for July 4th weekend…Yes I know its like finding a needle in a hay stack…considering the criteria…so the search continues.

In the mean time, Chicken chimichangas made its way onto my menu this week. I had bought Dan some new salsa that he didn’t seem to care for because it was “too garlicky”. This coming from a man, I swear, has a cast iron stomach. I didn’t believe him until I added the rest of the salsa into my chimichangas….honestly all I can taste is garlic…and I swear I could kill a vampire if given the chance. Note to self, never buying that kind again.

This chimichanga recipe is a tad bit healthier than others because its baked and not fried. We love this recipe and have been using it in spare rotation (due to the whole eating healthier thing…or something like that). I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we do.

IMG_2225

Chimichanga

Ingredients
1 8oz cream cheese softened
1 8oz package of shredded cheese
1 packet of taco seasoning
1 lb of cooked chicken shredded
1 can of kidney beans (drained)
1 bag of frozen corn
1 cup of your favorite salsa
8 (10 in) flour tortillas

Steps
1) In a large bowl stir together cream cheese, shredded cheese, taco seasoning, chicken, beans, corn and salsa.

2) Divide mixture among tortillas, place in greased pan with seam side down.

3) Heat oven to 350 and bake for 13-23 mins or until crispy and golden brown.

