We’ll its another week, another muffin recipe. This weekend it was a heat wave. I swear my house was 100 degrees. So baking some muffins was a hot mess to say the least. Thank goodness it was cooler at night, so Dan and I were able to get some sleep. But it was way nicer than the horrible winter we had this year, so Im not complaining. I’ll take this heat any day. This week I found a recipe for lemon raspberry muffins. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

IMG_2236

 

Lemon Raspberry Muffins

Ingredients

1 lemon
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt
1/3 cup canola oil
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup whole-wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tsp lemon juice
1 1/2 cups fresh raspberries

Steps

1) Preheat oven to 350°F.

2) Use a vegetable peeler to remove the zest from the lemon in long strips. Combine the zest and sugar in a food processor; pulse until the zest is very finely chopped into the sugar.

3) In mixer add yogurt, oil, egg, and vanilla and lemon/sugar mixture.

4) Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, lemon juice and salt.

5)Gently fold in raspberries. Divide the batter among the muffin cups. Bake the muffins until the edges and tops are golden, 18 to 25 minutes.

