There’s something about summer that makes me feel like a kid all over again…I mean besides having ice cream. There’s nothing like sitting outside with a bunch a friends roasting marshmallows over the fire. Over July 4th weekend I got to do just that (we even made s’mores…with Reese’s peanut butter cups). This week I had a craving for some more s’mores. I’ve had this recipe for a s’mores pie in my cue for awhile…so I gave it a whirl…

…it was sooooo good. I think next time I make it I will put some peanut butter in it…because there’s nothing like s’mores with Reese’s peanut butter cups.

IMG_2272

 

S’mores Pie

Ingredients

Pie

1 graham cracker crust

7 oz of bitter sweet chocolate

1 cup heavy cream

1 large egg

Marshmallow Topping

1 envelope unflavored gelatin (1 tablespoon)
1/3 cup plus ¼ cup cold water
1 cup granulated sugar

Steps

1) Put chocolate in a large bowl. Bring cream to a boil and pour over chocolate.

2) Let sit for 1 min then whisk until chocolate is melted and smooth.

3) Gently whisk in egg and pour into crust.

4) Bake 25 mins at 350 and let cool.

5) For topping, in a mixing bowl, sprinkle the gelatin over 1/3 cup cold water. Allow the gelatin to soften, about 5 minutes. Heat the remaining ¼ cup water and the sugar in a saucepan over medium-high heat, stirring until the sugar is dissolved. Stop stirring; clip a candy thermometer onto the side of the pan. Boil the syrup until the temperature reaches the soft-ball stage (238 degrees F). Remove from heat; add the syrup to the softened gelatin. Whisk the mixture by hand to cool, about 1 minute, then use an electric mixer to whisk on medium-high speed until soft, glossy (but not dry) peaks form, 8 to 10 minutes. (The frosting must be used immediately because it will harden.)

6) Spoon over top of pie. But boiler on and place pie under boiler to brown the topping.

 

