So far this week has been a success in the recipes I’ve decided to try…AND it’s even prompted Dan to have dinner ready for me when I come home from kickboxing…I may be onto something. (Im probably jinxing myself now).

Dan was weary watching me cut and prep the vegetables for this meal…he had one question…is there meat in the recipe. I showed him the recipe and he seemed satisfied. We’ve had this recipe for a couple of nights now. The first night we had these I asked him what he thought…(I can’t make this up)…“well they aren’t manwiches…but I guess they are ok”. Well I guess they were ok enough to have for dinner a second night. The second night Dan decided to “doctor” it up…and it was waaaaaay better with his additions. So I will share with you his “doctored” version of homemade sloppy joes.

IMG_2285

 

Dan’s “Doctored” sloppy Joes

Ingredients

1lb ground beef
1 large onion, finely chopped
2 large leeks, washed and finely chopped
3 large carrots, peeled and finely chopped
2 celery spears, finely chopped
4 mushrooms, finely chopped
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1/2 tsp each ground cumin, coriander and cloves
2 tsp paprika
2 cans chopped tomatoes
1 tbsp tomato paste
2 tsp sugar

½ cup honey

Rolls

Cheese

Steps

1) Cook ground beef and set aside.

2) In the pot, use olive oil to fry the onion, leeks, carrots and celery until soft and fragrant, about 10 minutes.

3) Add the mushrooms and garlic and fry for another 5 minutes before adding the spices and tomatoes and tomato paste and honey.

4) Allow to simmer for 5 minutes before adding the ground beef back into the pot with the sugar. Reduce the heat and allow to simmer for 30-45 minutes covered. Allow to simmer for 15 minutes uncovered until the sauce has reduced slightly. Season to taste. Serve the on the toasted bread rolls with some grated cheese.

 

