So, most nights at my house I usually just “make up” dinner.  You know what can I make with what I already have because there is no way I’m going across town to the grocery store.

This was one of those nights.  I had ground beef already cooked up from a previous meal the night before and went rummaging through my fridge and cabinets to try to figure out what I could make.

Easy American Chop Suey

20140718-050605-18365075.jpg

Ingredients

1.5-2lbs cooked ground beef

1 onion chopped

1 can diced tomatoes

2 tbsp. tomato paste

1 cup water or broth

1 pint grape tomatoes halved

1 tbsp. oregano

1tbsp garlic powder

1 lb cooked macaroni or similar pasta

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup shredded Italian cheese blend

Directions:

Basically, I heated up the ground beef in a skillet with the chopped onions. Then added everything else and simmered till the onions were soft.  Mix in the pasta and top with cheese to serve.  This makes a good amount and we even had a container to go into the freezer for another night.  Of course over the weekend my freezer was acting up, so we ened up eating the leftovers a little sooner than I had planned, but that’s another story.

