There are many great things about summer, the sun, family events and no snow. However I do have to admit, I tend to find meals that do no require my oven this time of year…my air conditioners only cool off my place so far…and I don’t think Dan wants added salt to his meals (from me sweating over the hot oven). So I opt to use my grill as much and as often as I can…speaking of which…I think Im out of propane…(note to self)…any ways…

Normally Im not a huge fan of ground turkey or chicken…I’ve tried to do the healthy thing and substitute it in my meal plan…but its just not the same…and there is no amount of condiments that can change it into anything resembling ground beef…I think its a texture thing…

So this recipe was out of my comfort zone to say the least…and you know it wasn’t bad…Dan had no complaints…and this coming from a man who likes his meat (preferably beef) and potatoes…so on this hot and humid day…I give you Chicken Gyro Burgers

IMG_2290

Ingredients
ground chicken
juice of 1/2 lemon
1 minced clove of garlic
1/2 tsp of basil
1/2 tsp of oregano
1 cup feta
1 package of sandwich thins
tzatziki sauce

Steps

1) Mix all ingredients together.

2) Form into burgers and cook

3) Serve on sandwich thins with lettuce, cucumbers and tzatziki sauce.

