As I’m sitting here writing this blog post, a story my grandmother keeps coming to mind. Now let me explain first of all my grandmother is 76 and has the wit of a 30 something. She’s always getting herself into funny situations…as she says trouble follows her everywhere…Anyways she was at a fancy restaurant a couple of years ago with some friends…and by fancy I mean there’s a “certain” dress code that doesn’t include sweat pants and orthopedics. The waiter comes over to take drink orders and hands my grandmother and her friends a separate sheet with the specials. On the menu was a quiche. When the waiter came back to take orders…my grandmother, not knowing how to pronounce quiche…catches the male waiter off guard by ordering the quickie of the day…I can’t make this stuff up… and THIS is why she is my hero…

This is been one busy weekend, I don’t think I’ve stopped all weekend. I may need to just get to work to rest and relax…but shhhhhh don’t tell my boss. If you come near my cube and hear snoring it isn’t me… lol. Even with the fast pace weekend, I still managed to try a few recipes. I was looking for something different for breakfast and settled on a quiche. Now with all of the different recipes I’ve tried over the years, I have never made a quiche…so this was my first time at the rodeo…

The recipe I got from Yum Food and Fun for Kids was very user friendly and could be customized with a number of different combinations.

Anyways I hope you have a good Monday…I’m going to go fluff my pillow at my desk and get back to sleep…a girl needs her beauty rest you know…

DSCN0017

Spinach “Quickie” (Quiche)

Ingredients

1 prepared piecrust (for a 9-inch pie pan)
1 cup milk
2 eggs, beaten
1 ½ cups cheddar cheese, shredded
½ cup fresh Parmesan cheese, shredded
1 10-ounce package frozen spinach, thawed and drained

Steps

1) Preheat oven to 350°F.

2) Line a 9-inch pie pan with crust. Flute edges

3) In a medium bowl, combine milk, eggs, cheddar cheese, Parmesan cheese, spinach, salt and pepper. Pour into the prepared piecrust.

4) Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes, or until a knife dipped into the center comes out clean. Let quiche cool for a few minutes and serve warm

