The longer Jodi and I do this blog, the more I’ve been wanting to create my own recipes. I had some zucchini to use up, if you couldn’t tell from my last couple of posts. On Pinterest I had pinned a lemon raspberry zucchini bread and wanted to turn it into cookies. During my Pinterest binge I then found a recipe for blackberry zucchini popsicles. I thought why not add blackberries to the raspberry zucchini bread. I wanted to do something different and the one thing I have never had is zucchini cookies. I decided to go digging for a zucchini cookie recipe and attempted to combine both the lemon raspberry zucchini bread and zucchini cookies. My first attempt didn’t have enough lemon flavor. My second attempt had too much liquid and not enough flour. I ended up baking the rest of batter into bar form to try to help with the “rubbery” consistency which helped. But I’d still like to play with this recipe a bit more so they can be cookies and not bars. But for my first attempt at making my own recipe wasn’t great but it still resulted in a semi eatable product. Im taking that as a semi win. I think Im going to continue tweaking this recipe and I will repost it when its exactly what I want it to be. But in the mean time here is my version of blackberry lemon zucchini bars.

DSCN0049

blackberry lemon zucchini bars

Ingredients

5 1/4 cups flour

2 3/4 cups sugar

3/4 cups lemon juice

2 eggs

1/2 tsp. baking soda

2 cups blackberries

2 cups shredded zucchini

Instructions

1) Combine dry ingredients in a bowl.

2) Add lemon juice, eggs and combine.

3) Add black berries and zucchini.

4) Add to a greases 9X13 pan and bake at 350 for 50 mins.

