One of Dan’s coworkers went deep sea fishing and brought us back some fish. Now Im no expert when it comes to identifying fish…but I guess it was cod…by the color. Now I’ve cooked haddock and salmon plenty of times over…but cod, that’s a whole different story. I found a recipe Butter and Herb baked cod from Grandmothers Kitchen. I followed the recipe and I knew something was wrong when Dan took one bite and asked how much salt I had put in the seasoning. I told him none. I knew exactly what he was talking about once I took my first bite. It tasted like a whole shaker full of salt. So I don’t want to call this a complete fail, but maybe I lack of knowledge of how to prepare cod. I asked Dan to ask his coworker if we were supposed to soak it before cooking…I have yet to hear back…$10 says Dan forgot.

But I say give this one a try…besides to overwhelming salt taste, the recipe wasn’t bad. Maybe you’ll have better luck than I did.

DSCN0056

Butter and Herb baked cod

Ingredients

4 cod fillets (or white fish of choice)
6 tablespoons butter, melted

1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/2 a lemon, juiced, plus more for serving
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, finely chopped
1 teaspoon dried dill
1 clove garlic, minced

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

2) Line a large baking pan with parchment paper and place fish on it.

3) In a medium bowl whisk together the butter, lemon, mustard, parsley, dill and garlic.

4) Divide the sauce between fish. top evenly

5) Bake for 15-16 minutes depending on the size of the fish, Then broil for 1-2 minutes or until top turns golden, checking every 20 seconds. Serve immediately with additional lemon

 

