Well the weekend will be here in T-minus 9 hours…I mean not like I’m counting or anything. Not that I can complain too much I took today off to get some stuff done around the house before I go away for the weekend. My grandmother and I are going to a local place for breakfast (Parkers Maple Barn). If you haven’t been you HAVE to go. I also have to get the rest of my things in order…including cleaning out my car…because lets be honest…I totally live out of my car. I don’t think the girls Im driving with will want to be witness to that…so I see a vacuuming and car wash in my future today. With all of this going on and recovering from the plague, I’ve surprisingly found time to try another apple recipe. I figured worst came to worst, Dan could eat that while I’m gone. But again, lets be honest…he’s going to revert back to his bachelor ways the second I leave….hello red meat. This new recipe I picked up from Culinary concoctions by Peabody. I was surprised how light the consistency was. The only change I made to the recipe was 2 bananas (instead of shortening) and 2 large apples cut up.

FSCN0069

Apple Cider Pound Cake

Ingredients

1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup shortening (I used two bananas)
3 cups granulated sugar
6 large eggs
3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 cup apple cider
1 tsp. vanilla bean paste (I used vanilla extract)

2 large apples chopped

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 325F. You can use a large tube pan or I made 5 small loaves. Grease whatever pan you are using with baking spray.

2) Using a stand mixer with a paddle attachment cream together the shortening (or bananas) and butter. Add sugar ¼ of a cup at a time. When all sugar is incorporated beat on medium-high speed for about 5 minutes.

3) Add eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl after every addition.

4) Add the vanilla and beat another 30 seconds.

5) Combine the flour, baking powder, salt, and spices in a medium bowl.

6) Starting with the flour mixture alternate adding the flour, then the cider, than flour, cider, and end with flour. Beat until all the ingredients are well combined. Add apples.

7) Tube pan bake for 90 minutes. Small loaves took about 70 minutes. Just watch your oven to make sure a knife inserted in middle of cake comes out clean.

Caramel Glaze

Ingredients

1/2 granulated cup sugar
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 cup unsalted butter
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup Lyle’s Golden Syrup (dark corn syrup can be used)
1 tsp. vanilla bean paste

8) Combine all ingredients in a medium sauce pan and bring to a boil. Boil for 10 minutes. Drizzle over cake while cake is still warm.

 

