I thin fall is finally here. Theres a chill in the air that’s making me question whether its time to put away my flip flops. With all of this fallish air all I want to do is make some comfort food. This past weekend I made some homemade French onion soup with fresh garlic bread. Dan requested I made this again, just so he can put the onions on top of a burger. (I have a feeling there will be a French onion soup burger in my future). I had to giggle a little when I chose a Martha Stewart recipe for my French onion soup. A friend of mine has nicknames me Martha due to all the cooking I do. So “Martha” was following a Martha recipe…haha. There is nothing I would change in the recipe…I mean besides adding the garlic bread to the top.DSCN0078

French Onion Soup with Garlic Bread

Ingredients

4 tablespoons unsalted butter

2 pounds yellow onions, sliced 1/4-inch into half circles

1 teaspoon sugar

1 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 cup dry sherry

3 cups Beef Stock

2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme or 3/4 teaspoon dried thyme

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

1 small French baguette, sliced crosswise into 1/2-inch pieces

Garlic Salt

Fresh Garlic

Softened Butter

8 ounces Gruyere cheese, grated on the large holes of a box grater (about 3 cups)

Directions

1) Melt butter in a large Dutch oven or heavy pot on medium-low heat. Add onions. Spread them out in as thin a layer as possible. Sprinkle with sugar, and cook, stirring just as needed to keep onions from sticking, until they are melting and soft, golden brown, and beginning to caramelize, about 1 hour.

2) Sprinkle flour over onions, and stir to coat. Add sherry, stock, and thyme, and bring to a simmer. Cook, partially covered, for about 30 minutes, to allow the flavors to combine. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

3) Cut Bread lengthwise, spread butter on each side. Put garlic salt fresh garlic and Gruyere cheese on top and put under broiler and toast.

4) Meanwhile, ladle hot soup into six ovenproof bowls. Top with bread and serve immediately.

 

