Well Halloween has come and gone. I feel like I blinked and black Friday adds were coming out and all the stores were blaring Christmas music. Im sorry didn’t we miss a holiday…you know that one where you eat a lot of turkey…also known as Thanksgiving. Im not quite ready to trade in my pumpkin and apple flavors for peppermint…not just yet. Therefore I am holding out as long as I can. Granted I’ve sorta started my Christmas shopping…but Im not ready to completely accept that Christmas is right around the corner…again.

So until Thanksgiving has come and gone, Im holding onto my fall flavors for as long as I can. I have always wanted to make homemade fries. I found a simple recipe for sweet potato fries from the art of doing stuff. This recipe was so easy that even a person who burns water could do!

DSCN0082

Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients

2 large sweet potatoes

2-3 Tablespoons of cornstarch

Directions

1) Peel and cut sweet potatoes into fries no thicker than 1/2″.  Soak in water for minimum of one hour, but preferably for half a day.

2) Drain water from bowl and lift fries out by the handful.  Give them a good shake.  They should be dry but still have enough moisture on them to allow the cornstarch to stick.

3) Put cornstarch in a plastic bag and drop all of your fries in.  Blow a little air into the bag, twist the top and shake it vigorously.  Lift the fries out onto one or two baking sheets.

4) Coat with Olive Oil.  The more the crispier and less sticking you’ll have, but the less healthy they’ll be.  Use 2 pans if you have to.  You want to make sure the fries aren’t crowded on the pan otherwise they’ll steam as opposed to getting crispy.

5) Bake for 15 minutes then check.  Once bottom of fries are getting crisp, flip them over and cook for another 5-10 minutes

 

